Effective August 31, 2012. This new law prohibits teen drivers under the age of 18 from using any electronic wireless communication device. They will be unable to talk, write, read or send a text-based communication via any type of electronic device while driving on Ohio roads. The law allows a teen to use a cell phone while the vehicle is parked and outside a lane of travel and also allows for phone calls to be placed to law enforcement agencies, hospitals, health care providers, and fire departments in emergency situations. A navigational device can be used as long as the device is operated in a hands-free or voice-activated manner. Read the entire law.
Graduated Driver License Law - The
Ohio Graduated Driver License law (GDL) mandates that a young driver receives
a minimum of 24 hours of classroom instruction and 8 hours of
behind-the-wheel instruction in driver training.
In addition to this requirement, they must receive at least 50 hours of in-car
practice (10 of these at night) with a parent or legal guardian.
Ohio Revised Code (Chapter 4508) - Legal definitions and clarification of administration and enforcement of rules, driver training
for disabled persons, requirements for instructor and school licenses, license fees, motorcycle safety and education programs, exemptions and
Ohio Administrative Code (Chapter 4501-7) - Legal definitions and clarification of instructor character and fitness requirements, place of business, application for and renewal of school licenses, application for and renewal of licenses for instructors and managers, qualifications for those instructing persons with a disability, insurance and bonding for training, required instructor training, training agreements, records,
requirements for vehicles used in training, advertising and soliciting business, and guarantees.