Online Driver’s Education was passed into law in 2012 through House Bill 487. This law allows students to have the choice on how they take their mandated 24 hours of driver’s education: in the traditional classroom setting; or in an online setting. The Driver Training Program Office developed rules and regulations for those applying to become online providers in the State of Ohio.
All potential online driver education providers must go through an extensive review process. The process includes a review of security measurements; review of written content and curriculum; and actual hands-on student experience within the online program itself to ensure the Minimum Standards are met. Once a program meets an acceptable rating in all areas of the review process, they are licensed as an Online Driver’s Education Program.
The following Online Providers have been approved for Ohio:
Aceable Drivers Ed
All Star Driver Education, Inc.
American Safety Council, Inc.
Costech Technologies Inc.
Jordan Driving School, Inc.
Virtual Drive of Ohio
**Please note: students who choose to take the 24 hours of education online are still required to go to a traditional driving school to complete the 8 hours of behind-the-wheel training. Driving School information can be located under the Approved Schools link on this website.