Ohio Law Bans Texting While Driving
|Effective August 31, 2012. This new law prohibits teen drivers under the age of 18 from using any electronic wireless communication device. They will be unable to talk, write, read or send a text-based communication via any type of electronic device while driving on Ohio roads. The law allows a teen to use a cell phone while the vehicle is parked and outside a lane of travel and also allows for phone calls to be placed to law enforcement agencies, hospitals, health care providers, and fire departments in emergency situations. A navigational device can be used as long as the device is operated in a hands-free or voice-activated manner. Read the entire law.
Partnered for Safety: Parents and Teens - Parental involvement in a teen's driver education is essential.
As a parent, you have the power to ensure your teen gains the valuable skills needed to protect himself or herself
both while driving and riding in a motor vehicle. This time can also be challenging as teens begin to gain more
independence and the freedom that driving gives them. The below items are designed to help both parents and teens
navigate their way successfully through this process. Good luck!
Graduated Driver License Law - The
Ohio Graduated Driver License law (GDL) mandates that a young driver
a minimum of 24 hours of classroom instruction and 8 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction in driver training.
In addition to this requirement, they must receive at least 50 hours of in-car practice (10 of these at night) with a
parent or legal guardian. Click here for more information.
FREE Training for Young Drivers
The Bridgestone Tire Company presents the Teens Drive Smart Program in Cleveland on August 9th and 10th. The interactive program is free of charge and is designed to equip young drivers ages 15-21 with safe driving techniques, accident avoidance and ways to avoid distracted driving.
Click here for more information.
Talk to Your Teen About Safe Driving
Ohio Digest of Motor Vehicle Laws
Ohio Digest of Motor Vehicle Laws (Spanish)
Get Real Behind the Wheel
Teaching Your Teen to Drive
Intersection Stopping Requirements
Diagram of Intersection Stopping Requirements
a Fact Sheet
BMV 2438 - Eligible Adult In Loco Parentis Affidavit (PDF) (Word)
Adjusting Your Seat and Mirrors
Ohio Driver Training Curriculum
One or Two Student
Selecting a Driver Training School
What to Do If Your Driving School
Qualifing for your Ohio
What to Do in an Emergency
Filling up the Gas Tank & Static Electricity (video file)
House Bill 54
About the Laws Governing Teen Driving
Ohio Graduated Driver License Law (GDL) mandates that a young driver receive
a minimum of 24 classroom
instruction hours and 8 hours of
behind-the-wheel instruction in driver training. In addition to this requirement,
they must receive at least 50 hours of in-car practice (10 of these at
night) with a parent or legal guardian.
Have questions about changes to the teen driving laws?
Have a complaint against an Ohio driving school or instructor? (DTO 0004) PDF Word
Driving restrictions where minor withdraws from school or is habitually absent
Duties of teacher/superintendent upon student's withdrawal or habitual absences