The option to translate this page is provided via third party application. The ODPS/BMV cannot guarantee the accuracy of the translation made available through this service. Users accept the risk of inaccurate translations.
Under Ohio law, a young driver must have a minimum of 24 hours of classroom instruction and 8 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction in driver training.
Students may take the 24 hours of education through an online program, but must complete behind-the-wheel training at a traditional driving school. Students also must complete at least 50 hours of in-car practice (10 at night) with a parent or legal guardian.
Your Move Ohio – Tips to be safe when you walk, bike, bus or drive.
Online driver education providers go through a process that includes a review of security measures, written content and curriculum, and actual student experience to ensure minimum standards are met. Once a program achieves an acceptable rating in all areas of the review process, it is licensed as an Online Driver Education Program in Ohio.
The Juvenile Driver Improvement Program or Juvenile Remedial is a six-hour course required by courts and Ohio BMV for teens who have received a second or third traffic conviction. The course discusses reasons to modify unsafe driving behaviors and decisions teens make as novice drivers.
State law provides juvenile traffic offenders an opportunity to take a state-approved advanced juvenile driver improvement program (AJDIP) and petition the judge at the sentencing hearing with their AJDIP certificate. AJDIP training provides a hands-on approach to performing emergency maneuvers due to inclement weather and crash avoidance for those not-so-ideal traffic situations.
Driver training options for adult drivers include abbreviated adult, mature driver and commercial driver training.
An applicant for an initial driver’s license, who is age 18 or older and who fails the first attempt at the maneuverability or road portion of the driving test, is required to take an abbreviated adult driver training course before attempting the driving test for a second time. The course will consist of one of the following:
*Applicants who choose the option for 24 hours of driving with a licensed driver 21 years of age or older cannot complete more than four hours of driving in one day. In addition, applicants who choose this option are required to complete the Twenty-Four Hour Affidavit (BMV 5789).
The adult remedial program is an 8-hour defensive driving program offered in a classroom setting. The course is taken for one of the following reasons:
Mature driver courses are designed to update older drivers on new laws and practices in the ever-changing driving environment. Courses include classroom and driving sessions with a certified driving school. A certificate issued at the completion of the program will allow a driver, at least 60 years of age and older, to receive a discount on their insurance (rate of discount determined by the insurance company).
Commercial Driver License (CDL) programs train drivers interested in the commercial trucking industry.
See U.S. Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) requirements, or call toll-free 800-832-5660.
Entry-Level Driver Training (ELDT) Regulations
Entry-Level Driver Training (ELDT) regulations establish new Federal minimum training standards for entry-level drivers.
Beginning February 7, 2022, drivers must have completed required entry-level driver training from a provider registered with FMCSA before taking a CDL skills or knowledge test to obtain one of the licenses or endorsements listed below.
How do ELDT regulations impact CLP holders?
How do the ELDT regulations impact current CDL holders?
How will drivers subject to ELDT find training providers?
Drivers seeking to obtain a Class A or Class B CDL or an S, P, or H endorsement must select a training provider from the public list, which will be live on the Training Provider Registry website later this year. Drivers will contact the training provider and secure their services outside of the Registry.